The Central Committee of Experts SCC is responsible for (the management of) the SCC system. The Cooperation for Safety Foundation (SSVV) is the legal owner of the SCC system, and sets up the CCVD-SCC so that it functions optimally. All parties involved in the SCC system are represented by the SSVV.

The Cooperation for Safety Foundation (SSVV)
The SSVV is an independent foundation that promotes safety, working conditions, the work environment and the skills of the members of the (sector) organisations that are affiliated to it. To achieve these goals, we focus on:

  • The development and application of certification for SHE management systems
  • Standards and standardisation of SHE management systems
  • Alignment of SHE management systems
  • Management of certification systems

Participating organisations

The participants of the SSVV are organisations that represent the interests of a group of companies or their own interests. Those interests should be compatible with the objectives of the SSVV.
As a contractor, you will be asked more and more often if you are SCC certified. Many clients even require this as a precondition. But what does SCC actually stand for?

SHE Contractors Checklist

SCC stands for Safety, Health and Environment (SHE) Contractors Checklist, and is designed to keep you safer at work and reduce the number of accidents. In fact, SCC is much more than just a checklist. It is a versatile programme through which service providers are inspected and certified on their SHE management system. SCC certification is becoming a mandatory requirement for more and more clients.

For whom?

SCC certification is intended for companies carrying out high-risk work in a risky environment. This is often as a result of the construction or maintenance work that takes place on construction sites, in factories and workshops and on installations. SCC certification is widely required in the following industries:

  • Mechanical engineering
  • Electrical engineering and process control
  • Architecture
  • Civil engineering
  • Other technical services, such as insulation, scaffolding, industrial cleaning, blasting/conservation/painting, transportation, inspection, etc.

How did SCC arise?

SCC has been in existence since 1994. The development of the SCC certification system was launched in 1989 by the National Working Group for Contractor Safety. Representatives of petrochemical companies and contractors wanted to set up a system for contractor organisations to objectively assess their safety and performance. Meanwhile, the SCC is generally recognised as the industry standard.

Cooperation for Safety Foundation

The SCC system is hosted by the independent Cooperation for Safety Foundation (SSVV). The Central Committee of Experts SCC is responsible for the management and further development of the SCC schedule. The SCC schedule is subject to accreditation by the Accreditation Council (RvA). The certification bodies that carry out the SCC audits are accredited by the Accreditation Council.

European Standard

The SCC system (the so-called certification schedule) meets the requirements laid down in European standards. This simplifies international application and facilitates mutual recognition between European countries.
To obtain anSCC certificate, you as a company must go through five steps. This roadmap provides insight into what needs to happen before your business is eligible for certification.

Step 1: Determine whether the company is eligible
The first step is to determine whether you are eligible for anSCC certificate. The SCC is designed for contractors who carry out work for clients that is risky or involves working in hazardous conditions.
Step 2: Determining the level of certification
You then need to determine the level of certification which is applicable to you: SCC, SCC** or SCC Petrochemical. Ultimately, it is the customer who will determine the level of certification that you require.

Step 3: Draw up action points for the SHE management system
In the third step, you need to draw up action points for developing or improving your SHE management system. (SHE = Safety, Health, Environment). To do this, you must first determine your starting point. Perhaps your organisation already meets some of the requirements of the SHE management system? And which parts still need to be worked on?

Step 4: Implement the action points for the SHE management system
Here you start by implementing the action points that you drew up in the previous step. In this step, you are working towards creating an effective working HSE management system.

Step 5: Request an SCC certificate
Once steps 1 to 4 have been completed, you may then submit an application for certification by an accredited certification body. This certification body will assess your HSE management system by means of an audit. If you meet all the requirements, you will receive a certificate. You will get the opportunity to make improvements to any deficiencies identified by the audit.

Many (near)accidents to employees are caused by a lack of knowledge and being unaware of the safety risks. Knowledge and awareness can only be increased through more and better education, which will result in the prevention of many accidents.

SCC requires that employees have sufficient knowledge of HSE (Health, Safety and Environment). The type of diploma or certificate an employee must have depends on their role. All certificates are personal and the original must therefore be in possession of the employee.

Safety for SCC Operational Supervisors (VOL-SCC)
All operational supervisors must possess VOL-SCC.
The VOL-SCCcomprises basic knowledge supplemented by European directives, SCC certification, company contingency plans and organisation of toolbox meetings.

Green Energy Services has SCC ** 2008/5.1 certification

Our technical service technicians and managementl staff have full SCC diplomas





Contact and adress

De Wieken 21
The Netherlands
Tel: +31 (0) 517-234970
Chamber of Commerce 37114530
VAT NL817.3.02529.B01
IBAN NL38RABO0161804489

Go directly to

Disclaimer & privacy